Match date: 4th of July 2023 Kickoff: 19.30 pm

Dunbar United    2   Hibernian FC XI  2

Five weeks after winning the First Division title it was back to business for Dunbar United with the first of their Pre-Season friendlies against a Hibernian Development Squad. Four of the new signings were making their debut and with another Friendly match pencilled in for tomorrow night at Coldstream only five substitutes were named.

Hibernian had Darren Macgregor playing at the back with recent signing Max Boruc in goal along with an array of talent including Oscar Macintyre and Jair Tavarez who have recently had first team outings in their starting eleven.

After some heavy afternoon rain the pitch looked in great condition and in front of a healthy crowd it was the hosts who started the better and Boruc had to look lively to save Dean Whitson’s header from an early corner.

Dunbar took the lead in the fourth minute after young Gregor Goldie outpaced Darren Macgregor on the left and his cross was headed back across goal where new signing Kyle Somers was on hand to fire into the net for his first goal in Dunbar colours.

Three minutes later and Dunbar increased their lead when Michael McFarlane was upended inside the box after a defence splitting through ball and from the resultant penalty kick another new signing Taylor Hendry scored from the spot kick. Hibs pulled one back in the twelfth minute after a Tavarez free kick on the left was headed in by Darren Macgregor at the back post to make the score 2-1 to Dunbar.

Hibs almost scored again when Jair Tavarez’s low cross was flicked on by Jay McGarva but Sean Brennan saved well in the Dunbar goal.  In the 18th minute Hibs Macintyre was tackled by another Dunbar new signing Gordon Harris just inside the box with the referee awarding the visitors a penalty kick and a great chance to level the scores but Jair Tavarez fired the shot kick wide of the goal and the chance went abegging.

Play raged from end to end with both sides pushing forward at every opportunity with Michael McFarlane going close from a corner kick and Kyle Somers firing one over the bar.

Hibs Jamie Bulloch had a shot saved by Sean Brennan before Gregor Goldie ran clear on the right with his cross acrobatically cleared by Hibs Rory Whittaker but it was the hosts who went in at the break with a slender one goal lead.

Four minutes after the restart Hibs drew level with a brilliant individual goal from the impressive Jair Tavarez. The ex Benfica player pounced on a loose ball just inside the Dunbar half and beat three defenders with some brilliant foot work and pace before rounding Sean Brennan and firing high into the net much to the delight of the Hibernian support.

Both teams made changes on the hour mark before Tavarez had another shot saved by Sean Brennan and one which hit the side netting. Seventeen minutes from time a defence splitting pass left Hibs Alfie Smith clear with only the keeper to beat but his shot was headed off the line by Dean Whitson to keep the score intact.

Two minutes later and some brilliant play by Gregor Goldie saw Cammy Dawson’ shot blocked before Darren Handling did likewise. Dunbar pushed hard for a winner and James Redpath’s quick thinking from a corner saw Fraser Neave’s volley from the edge of the box blocked on the line by a Hibernian defender.

Hibs Dean Clelland fired over the bar before Tavarez went close again but it was Dunbar who created the best chance six minutes from time when Gregor Goldie was left with only the keeper to beat but the experienced Darren Macgregor used all his experience to keep the youngster out with the home support appealing for a penalty kick.

No more scoring in a competitive and entertaining game and on this performance Dunbar United can look forward to a better season on their return to the Premier League. All the new signings impressed with their work rate and distribution against a very good and well organised Hibernian side.

Dunbar United :- Sean Brennan, Michael McFarlane, James Redpath, Dean Whitson, Gordon Harris, Grant Thomson, Gregor Goldie, Bob Berry, Michael Barfoot, Kyle Somers, Taylor Hendry.

Substitutes :-  Cammy Dawson, Aaron Congalton, Shea Dowie, Darren Handling, Fraser Neave.

Hibernian FC XI :- Max Boruc, Harry Wright, Rory Whittaker, Jamie Bulloch, Owen Hastie, Jay McGarva, Oscar Macintyre, Robbie Hamilton, Malik Zaid, Jair Tavarez, Darren McGregor.

Substitutes :-Samuel Sinnefon, Dean Clelland, Alfie Smith, Owen Calder, Zach Bruce, Joseph McGrath, Jamie McMurdo.

Referee :- Ryan Lee.

Match report courtesy of Laurie Wood.

Photos by Gordon Maitland. Please see our Facebook page for more photos.

“Mon the Seasiders”