Match date: 9th November 2021 Kickoff: 7.30 pm

Dunbar United’s visit to Penicuik Park, the home of the league leaders, was perhaps a less than ideal opportunity for the team to move on from the disappointment of Saturday’s 6-3 defeat at Dundonald. 

The alarm bells sounded for The Seasiders in the very early stages.  Indeed, with less than 20 seconds played the ‘Cuikie took the lead after confusion in the Dunbar rearguard allowed Aidan Walsh to slot home the long range pass from Ryan Baptie.

Dunbar had to wait until the quarter of an hour mark to get a first shot at goal with Darren Smith’s shot blocked by a Penicuik defender.  However, Dunbar raised the tempo and hard working Johnny Edmond had a chance blocked by Baptie in the Penicuik defence after some good work by Andy Jones.

Jones himself had a great chance around the half hour mark after an impressive run, and delivery from out wide by Dean Whitson, and minutes later Bob Berry was incredibly unlucky to have Penicuik captain Andy Forbes clear his chance from the goal line.

Dunbar were working hard and Penicuik had good chances too with Paul Tansey and Nicky Reid both missing the target from good positions.

The deserved Dunbar equaliser came for Johnny Edmond who had a simple task after a great ball in from a Darren Smith corner on 41 mins.

Dunbar ended the first half in the ascendency and former Dunbar men Stevie McLeish and Davie Lees in the Penicuik dugout were no doubt pleased to hear the referees whistle to allow for a period of reflection.

The second half saw the introduction of local Dunbar man Lumbert Katelaza for effervescent Penicuik winger Paul Tansey after Tansey had come off worse having collided with Scott Hay in the first half.

Katelaza was almost an immediate hero when his through ball was put into the Dunbar net by Nicky Reid, albeit Reid was clearly offside with the whistle going before his shot was taken. 

Katelaza caused more problems for United before a foul on Evan Fleming, by Penicuik goal scorer Aidan Walsh, ended the 17 year old fullbacks evening prematurely.

Darren Handling came on for Fleming with Bob Berry returning to the left back role he played against Dundonald in the previous fixture. 

A slightly scrappy period followed and the fouls in the second half were begging to tot up with Penicuik’s Forbes and Falconer being joined in the referees book by Dunbar’s skipper for the evening Grant Thomson.

Andy Jones came incredibly close for United just after the hour mark and shortly after another foul by Walsh, this time on the ever dangerous Andy Jones, allowed Darren Smith to drill a free kick on goal but it was again turned out for a corner by the impressive  Penicuik stopper Watt.

A goal finally came on 70 minutes and unfortunately for Dunbar it was Penicuik’s Nicky Reid who placed a low ball behind Daniel Laing.

Reid nearly added to his tally only minutes later and Dunbar had the post to thank for rebounding his shot which had evaded the Dunbar keeper.

Penicuik and Dunbar both had further chances with Katelaza, Reid and Somerville all getting shots away for Penicuik.  Fortunately Daniel Laing was in good form to repel the Penicuik advances and Jamie Devlin also looked to have left his shooting boots at home.

A final caution of the evening came for Penicuik’s Katelaza for time wasting in stoppage time with Dunbar pushing for an equaliser, albeit it looked like Penicuik were defending superbly and in truth it was easy to see why Penicuik sit at the top of the table with their well marshalled side playing some nice football and working hard in all areas of the park.

However, Dunbar also worked hard and will take confidence from having had the league leaders on the back foot for good spells of this game.

Dunbar now looks forward to visiting New Victoria Park in Newtongrange on Saturday, no doubt without Evan Fleming who limped off the park and looks to be out for several weeks.

Penicuik Athletic :- Robert Watt, Ryan Baptie, Darrell Young, Kieran Watson, Paul Tansey, Robbie Neave, Lewis Collins, Andy Forbes ©, Aiden Walsh, Scott Mccrory-Irving, Nicky Reid.

Substitutes :- David Edwards, Lumbert Kateleza, Aaron Somerville, Jack Furness, Gregor Lamb, Reece Hope, Liam Robertson.

Dunbar United: Daniel Laing, Grant Thomson ©, Dean Whitson, Scott Hay, Evan Fleming, Darren Smith, Robert Berry, Fraser Neave, Jamie Devlin, Andy Jones, Johnny Edmond.

Substitutes: Ryan Mack, Kieran Ingram, Jordan Purves, Michael Fairnie, Fraser McFarlane, Daniel Purves, Darren Handling.